Ash Koley To Release 'Inventions' October 5; Debuts New Video For "Don't Let Your Feet Touch Ground"

Their feet have yet to touch the ground, as the Canadian pop-duo Ash Koley announce their debut mini album, Inventions, for release October 5, 2010 by Sony Music Entertainment Canada and Nettwerk. The album features eight original tracks written by bandmates Ash Koley and Phil Deschambault, including their infectiously catchy single “Don’t Let Your Feet Touch Ground.”

Ash Koley recently premiered the brand new video for "Don't Let Your Feet Touch Ground" on and MuchMusic. Directed by JUNO Award winner Anthony Seck (“Honey Honey”- Feist), the piano-themed video is as bubbly as the song. Check it out above. 

“For us, creating music is like building little inventions. Every song we write comes from an idea we then craft, construct and design into something we both fall in love with,” said Ash Koley of the album title.

Inventing doesn’t stop at songwriting for this Winnipeg twosome. Since they met in 2004 Ash Koley has fashioned a music video for each song and posted it to YouTube. It was these imaginative gems that prompted their co-manager Glen Willows to send the clips to the attention of Nettwerk CEO Terry McBride, who was immediately drawn to their quirky sound, and subsequently signed the band in 2009. Since then Ash and Phil have established another YouTube series of acoustic songs from Ash’s bathroom, appropriately titled “The Bathroom Series.”

Phil, a long time producer and songwriter, produced the entire album and the mixing was done by Grammy Award winner Tom Lord-Alge (Avril Lavigne, Blink 182, Sarah McLachlan). These eight tracks were selected for Inventions from scores of songs written over the past five years because they truly depict their style and character.

“Each song has a different personality and reflects those moments we were in when we wrote them. We feel the tracks selected for Inventions give a perfect introduction to Ash Koley,” said Phil.

Ash Koley began their musical collaboration in 2004 when Phil was looking for a singer who could relate to his sound and soon after a mutual acquaintance introduced them they began working on a collection of songs. Ash Koley made their touring premiere this past summer on the Lilith festival’s Canadian dates touring with the likes of Sarah McLachlan, Sheryl Crow and Erykah Badu. Their second single “Brighter at Night” goes to radio Monday, September 13.

Track Listing – Inventions

01 Brighter at Night
02 Apple of My Eye
03 Don’t Let Your Feet Touch Ground
04 Downtime Up
05 Mary the Inventor
06 GO!
07 Colliding
08 Balance

Press contact: 

Danielle Romeo |