Matt Wertz Has Career High Debut At #56 On Billboard Top 200; New Video For "Feels So Right"

"...easily the best record of his young career." – The Daily News

“…a characteristically catchy array of tunes…including some sunny acoustic jams, a soaring standout ballad…and a handful of charging melodic rock cuts.” – The Tennessean

Nashville-based singer/songwriter Matt Wertz has much to celebrate today. His fourth full-length album, Weights & Wings, has debuted on the Billboard Top 200 at #56 with 8,000 albums sold, nearly doubling the sales on his last full-length release Under Summer Sun (2008) and giving Matt the highest sales week and chart debut of his career. Weights & Wings also lands on the Overall Digital Albums Chart at #8 and achieves more than 10,000 in individual track sales. Wertz brings his live show to his loyal fans with a 27-city US tour that kicks off this Friday, March 25 in New York City at the Gramercy Theatre and wraps in his home city of Nashville on Saturday, May 7 at Exit In.

As part of the day’s celebration, Wertz has just premiered his brand new video for stand-out track “Feels So Right,” which yesterday was included in the USA Today “Playlist.” Critic Brian Mansfield wrote, “Sure, it’s a love song, but the title could easily refer to the undeniably perfect combination of jangle and slide guitar.” The video was directed by Josh Franer and costars Tucker Perry as the leading lady, also known as Miss Tennessee 2010. Check it out here: http://bit.ly/f4Hdya.

(Keep reading for more information and tour dates.)

In the three years since the release of 2008’s Under Summer Sun, Matt has toured relentlessly, both as a headliner and as support for the likes of Ben Folds, Five For Fighting, Jamie Cullum, Gavin DeGraw and One Republic. Along the way, he developed an avid live following with his charming personality and melodic, soulful pop songs. Matt had to learn the skillful balancing act of this hectic schedule with the trials and tribulations of every day life. Each of the 11 tracks on Weights & Wings is tied to the reflective songwriter’s relationships and personal journey over the past few years. The album was recorded in Nashville and produced by Jason Lehning (Guster, Alison Krauss, Mat Kearney).

In addition to his headline tour dates, Wertz will join major recording artists Train, Lifehouse, Colbie Caillat, The Script and more on the VH1 Best Cruise Ever from April 28 – May 2. For the second time, VH1 has teamed up with Sixthman for “the ultimate music lover’s getaway” -- a five-day cruise from Tampa to Cozumel on board the Carnival Inspiration with over a dozen artists. Visit www.vh1bestcruiseever.com/ for more details.

Matt Wertz Tour Dates:
Fri, Mar 25 New York, NY @ The Gramercy Theater
Sat, Mar 26 Boston, MA @ Royale
Sun, Mar 27 Philadelphia, PA @ World Café
Mon, Mar 28 Vienna, VA @ Jammin Java
Wed, Mar 30 Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Café
Thur, Mar 31 Ann Arbor, MI @ Ark
Fri, Apr 1 Chicago, IL @ House Of Blues
Sat, Apr 2 Madison, WI @ The Majestic
Sun, Apr 3 Minneapolis, MN @ Varsity
Tue, Apr 5 Des Moines, IA @ Peoples
Wed, Apr 6 Lawrence, KS @ Granada
Fri, Apr 8 Ft. Collins, CO @ Everyday Joes
Sat, Apr 9 Denver, CO @ Bluebird
Mon, Apr 11 Aspen, CO @ Belly Up
Tue, Apr 12 Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Thur, Apr 14 San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall
Fri, Apr 15 Santa Barbara, CA @ Soho
Sat, Apr 16 Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
Sun, Apr 17 San Diego, CA @ Anthology
Mon, Apr 18 Scottsdale, AZ @ Martini Ranch
Tue, Apr 19 Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress
Thur, Apr 21 Austin, TX @ Parish
Fri, Apr 22 Houston, TX @ House Of Blues
Sat, Apr 23 Dallas, TX @ House Of Blues
(Thur, Apr 28 – Mon, May 2 VH1 Cruise with Train, Lifehouse, Colbie Caillat & etc)
Thur, May 5 Birmingham, AL @ Workplay
Fri, May 6 Atlanta, GA @ The Loft
Sat, May 7 Nashville, TN @ Exit In

###

 

Press contact: 

Danielle Romeo | romeo@nettwerk.com