Nettwerk Management: Summer Recap 2011

Nettwerk Music Group is happy to share some exciting updates from its Management arm. Over the past few months, Nettwerk's Management Roster has expanded with multiple new signings: Shiny Toy Guns, Avalanche City, Hey Ocean, Gareth Dunlop, Joshua Hyslop, Radical Face, Liam Titcomb and Lucie Silvas. Read below for more information on each artist.

“For 26 years, Nettwerk has fostered and supported great new talent. I’m incredibly proud of these new additions to the roster and excited to present them to the world wide stage,” says Nettwerk CEO Terry McBride. “The coming year also brings anticipated new albums from some of our established artists like fun. and Katherine Jenkins. Our goal has always been to be the best, not biggest, at what we do.”

In addition to these new signings, Nettwerk Management has seen great successes with a couple of its established clients. Roots rock band Dispatch, featuring vocalist Chad Stokes (also of Nettwerk-managed and recording artist State Radio), returned to the road for a national tour after a 10-year hiatus. In spite of limited national media attention, Dispatch drew nearly 150,000 fans from all over the world to see this limited run of 13 dates. The tour closed with three consecutive nights at Boston's famed TD Garden, which was a fitting exclamation point on a tour that saw the band sell out a 25,000 seat soccer stadium just outside of New York City and a three-night stand at Red Rocks Amphitheatre outside of Denver.

On the other end of the spectrum, Lemonade Mouth (Walt Disney Records), the soundtrack to the Disney Channel Original Movie by the same name featuring Nettwerk-managed artist Bridgit Mendler, peaked at #4 on the Billboard Top 200 upon its release in April and has gone on to sell nearly 325,000 units.

(Keep reading for more information on Nettwerk's new management signings...)

Nettwerk Management New Signings:

Shiny Toy Guns
The Los Angeles alternative/electronic band recently welcomed back original singer Carah Faye Charnow, introduced fifth band member Daniel Johansson and announced plans for their third album III, due out later this year. They released their debut album We Are Pilots (Universal Motown) in 2006, which went on to sell over 300,000 copies and earn a Grammy- nomination in 2007. The album featured breakthrough singles "Le Disko," "You Are The One" and "Rainy Monday." Their follow-up album, Season Of Poison (2008), saw a change in the lead vocalists and a radical change in music style, but yielded hits "Ricochet!" and "Ghost Town.” Listen to their newest song “The Sun” here:

Avalanche City
This folk band from New Zealand began as a solo project of frontman David Baxter. He and a group of musicians recorded their debut album, Our New Life Above The Ground, which Baxter made available for free download, expecting only a few hundred copies to be downloaded. After more than 10,000 copies were downloaded, Baxter took the album offline and began to market it. The first single, “Love Love Love,” debuted at #1 on the New Zealand chart (despite little radio play) and was also used as a theme song for TV2. The single achieved Gold recognition after 4 weeks on the charts. Check out the video for “Love Love Love” here:

Hey Ocean
What began as a very casual musical partnership between friends has, in less than five years, morphed into one of Canada’s most successful up and coming bands. Hey Ocean is a young band with a remarkable talent for blending various musical styles into a brand of infectious pop that is uniquely their own. Aside from the skillful delivery of their music, what sets Hey Ocean apart is the spirited character they bring to the stage. Three mischievous personalities combine to form a dynamic live presence that keeps concertgoers captivated and on their feet. The band is hitting the road in Canada with an EP released in November. A full-length album is set for release in early 2012. Listen to the band’s new song “Make A New Dance Up” from the upcoming album on Facebook here:

Gareth Dunlop
Live shows for this Irish singer/songwriter started in pubs and clubs but quickly moved to auditoriums and festivals around Europe, playing before and along side artists such as Jeff Beck, Imelda May, Snow Patrol, Paul Carrack, Jools Holland, Angus & Julia Stone, Nanci Griffith and the Grammy-Nominated Steeldrivers. As part of the Belfast Nashville Singer Songwriter's Festival 2011, Gareth received the Katherine Brick - Songwriter of the Year Award. His music has appeared on numerous hit TV shows such as One Tree Hill, Private Practice and Cougar Town, to name a few. After spending many months back and forth from the states, working with 6x Grammy Award Winning Producer -Brent Maher, Gareth's debut album is due for release mid 2012. With the EP “Devil Mocks Me” releasing October 2011. Listen to Gareth Dunlop’s song “Firefly” here:

Joshua Hyslop
Joshua Hyslop is a Vancouver-based folk musician with a modern edge, pulling inspiration from artists like Ryan Adams, Iron and Wine and Sufjan Stevens. He finds song-writing inspiration from the people and relationships that surround him, writing about his experiences candidly to expose his own vulnerabilities, doubts, and conflicts. Hyslop has garnered much attention around his live shows, where he captivates audiences with his charming and genuine performances. He recently released his debut EP titled Cold Wind EP. Listen to his debut EP on Soundcloud:

Radical Face
One half of the band Electric President and with side projects like Clone, Mothers Basement and Patients, chances are you're already familiar with Ben Cooper, AKA Radical Face. His music has most recently been featured as the theme song for the I AM NIKON campaign, launching the song “Welcome Home” to over 6 million YouTube views. Other song placements include the “It Gets Better” campaign, Chevy, ASICS and TV shows like Private Practice, Skins, Eddie Izzard and Weeds. On October 4, Radical Face will release his debut record The Family Tree: The Roots and support it with select tours dates, featuring a choir in the US this fall, A full European and Japanese tour will follow in early 2012. Watch the new music video for “A Pound of Flesh” here:

Liam Titcomb
The Canadian singer/songwriter was signed to Sony Canada when he was 15. Liam (now 23) has toured across Canada with established acts like Great Big Sea, Tom Cochrane, David Usher & Colin James. In 2006, he was nominated for the Canadian Radio Music Awards for Best New Group or Solo Artist (Hot AC) for his debut album on Columbia with Grammy-winning producer Bill Bottrell (Sheryl Crow, Michael Jackson). His sophomore album, Can’t Let Go, was recorded in Nashville with Jay Joyce (Patti Griffin, Derek Trucks) and released on Double Dorje Records, his own independent label. Liam has lived between Nashville and the UK over the past year, and is working on his third album. Listen to music from Liam Titcomb on his website here:

Lucie Silvas
The young, British singer/songwriter has been vocally compared to Christina Aguilera and Alicia Keys. Previously releasing records on both EMI and Mercury records, Lucie has seen international commercial and critical success for her two previous records. Lucie has also flourished in the songwriting community, with cuts on albums from artists like Sarah Whatmore, Gareth Gates, Rachel Steven, Will Young, Natalie Rodriguez and Christie. She also scored a top 10 hit for British pop group Liberty X. Lucie is set to release her third studio album Letters to Ghosts in late 2012. Listen to music from Lucie Silvas on MySpace here:

Stay tuned for more news from Nettwerk Music Group.




Press contact: 

Danielle Romeo |