The Submarines Announce New Album Out April 5; Free MP3 Of First Single "Birds"

Indie-pop duo The Submarines return with Love Notes/Letter Bombs, their third full-length release on Nettwerk Records, out April 5, 2011. Self-produced with mixing from John O’Mahony (Metric, Coldplay), Love Notes/Letter Bombs is the follow-up to 2008’s critically acclaimed Honeysuckle Weeks. The first single, “Birds”--reminiscent of ‘Revolver’-era Beatles, with lazy, back porch guitar and backwards solos—is out today. The track is one of a handful on the album featuring live drums, a new addition to The Submarines recording process, played by Spoon’s Jim Eno. Grab a free MP3 of "Birds" HERE

If their 2006 debut, Declare A New State, was a biographical recounting of their break-up and eventual reconciliation, 2008‘s Honeysuckle Weeks was an ode to the irrepressible mystery and magnificence of love’s newness; themes of blossoming gardens, life and love were woven together by vintage pop, intricately layered electronica and old school-dub. The album launched the Subs into the global slipstream, as their songs appeared everywhere -- from television (Gossip Girl, Grey’s Anatomy) and film (Nick And Norah’s Infinite Playlist) to multiple spots for Apple’s iPhone. The band toured North America and Europe extensively, sharing a stage with the likes of The Morning Benders, Aimee Mann and Brazilian Girls.

Love Notes/Letter Bombs picks up where Honeysuckle Weeks left off, except this time John Dragonetti and Blake Hazard find themselves in a new house, fervidly exchanging love notes and letter bombs. “I imagined a couple in a rambling old broken-down mansion, like something from a Wes Anderson movie,” says Blake of the album title’s inspiration, “pushing flower pots off the balcony onto each other, tying a love note around a brick and throwing it through a window.”

Though Love Notes/Letter Bombs is disarmingly easy to listen to, there is an unmistakable theme of conflict throughout. As personal and professional lives intertwine, tensions can run as high as the love, as the lyrics to these 10 songs attest. One suspects the Submarines wouldn't want it any other way.

The Submarines will be performing new songs along with favorites from Honeysuckle Weeks and Declare A New State in Austin at SXSW this March. Stay tuned for more news on tour dates.

Love Notes/Letter Bombs track list:
1. Shoelaces
2. Fire
3. Ivaloo
4. The Sun Shines At Night
5. Birds
6. Tigers
7. Where You Are
8. Plans
9. A Satellite, Stars and An Ocean Behind You
10. Anymore


Press contact: 

Danielle Romeo |