2/26 - BOY - 'Mutual Friends'

Hamburg-based indie pop duo BOY is set to make their North American debut with the release of MUTUAL FRIENDS on FEBRUARY 26th, 2013. The album’s infectious first single “Little Numbers,” which has garnered more than 6.5 million YouTube views, is available December 4, along with b-side “Skin (acoustic version).” 

Watch The Video For “Little Numbers” Here

BOY is comprised of Swiss-born Valeska Steiner and German-born Sonja Glass (neither of which are boys). The two met serendipitously when they participated in a prestigious music workshop in Hamburg. They immediately bonded over their classical-music training and a mutual love of the French band Phoenix. Before long, they decided to form a band and began writing what would become Mutual Friends.

Mutual Friends is an autobiographical affair, comprised of smart, sharply-observed songs that resonate because they’re about everyday life. The hooks are contagious and the lyrics are straight from the heart. “It's about arrivals and new beginnings,” explains Valeska. “About hopes and dreams and aspirations. We want to make music that's positive and hopeful,” she says. “There is more to music than heartbreak and loss,” agrees Sonja. The album has already achieved Gold status in Germany, where it has sold more than 100,000 copies.

BOY has spent most of the past year playing live. A major tour through Germany, Switzerland and Austria in the spring was followed by a summer full of festival weekends in those countries, as well as their first sold-out European headline shows in such cities as London, Paris and Amsterdam.

Mutual Friends track listing:
1. This Is The Beginning
2. Waitress
3. Army
4. Little Numbers
5. Drive Darling
6. Railway
7. Waltz For Pony
8. Boris
9. Oh Boy
10. Skin
11. Silver Streets
12. July
13. Little Numbers (Acoustic Version)
14. Oh Boy (Acoustic Version)**


Press contact: