Jay Brannan Finds Love In An Elevator With New Video For "Rob Me Blind;" U.S. Tour Starts July 18 In Boston

"Rob Me Blind is a labor of love that reflects [Jay's] growth as an artist, and his desire to take new chances." – The Huffington Post

“[David] Kahne has harnessed Brannan’s obvious natural talents, and instead of just rolling out another modern folk record, the two have toyed with tempo, clever arrangements and thematic variety to produce an honest, informal and sometimes amusing collection of songs.” – musicOMH (UK)

Just a few weeks before the U.S. leg of his world tour begins, Jay Brannan has unveiled a new video for the title track of his latest album, Rob Me Blind. The video premiered yesterday on AOL’s Spinner.com.

Jay tells Spinner.com, "I'm way too shy to ever approach anyone on the street, on the subway, in an elevator or even at a bar. So it was fun to make a video involving chemistry-at-first-sight, where the characters didn't just end up going home to check the 'missed connections' listings on Craigslist."

Since the release of his sophomore full-length album Rob Me Blind, Jay has been touring the world, from the UK to Germany to Israel to Australia. His 28-date U.S. tour will begin on Wednesday, July 18th in Boston and wrap in his home city of New York on Saturday, August 25th. (Keep reading for full list of U.S. tour dates and more information).

Jay’s rabid online following combined with his penchant for connecting with live audiences has allowed him to tour the world multiple times, often playing to sold-out rooms across the globe. Usually performing alone with guitar, each show is peppered with a healthy amount of commentary, often expounding on the observations, adventures, and frustrations of his daily life. Jay has also been know to throw in a few covers of his favorite songs, from Joni Mitchell and Bob Dylan to Adele and Nicki Minaj.

For the follow-up to his 2008 critically acclaimed debut album goddamned, Jay teamed up with his dream producer, David Kahne (Regina Spektor, Paul McCartney, The Bangles). Rob Me Blind maintains the signature qualities of a Jay Brannan album--brutal honesty, sharp wit and sparkling melodies--while showcasing Kahne's thoughtful production abilities.

Jay Brannan on tour:
Wed, July 18 Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
Thur, July 19 Hoboken, NJ @ Maxwell’s
Fri, July 20 Philadelphia, PA @ World Café Live
Sat, July 21 Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall
Mon, July 23 Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE
Tues, July 24 Columbus, OH @ The Basement
Thur, July 26 Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Fri, July 27 Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock Social Club
Sat, July 28 Kansas City, MO @ Czar Bar
Mon, July 30 Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Tues, July 31 Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Thur, Aug 2 Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Fri, Aug 3 Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Sat, Aug 4 San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
Tues, Aug 7 Los Angeles, CA @ The Troubadour
Wed, Aug 8 San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Fri, Aug 10 Phoenix, AZ @ Hard Rock Café
Sat, Aug 11 Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress
Mon, Aug 13 Dallas, TX @ Sons of Herman Hall
Tues, Aug 14 Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Jr.
Wed, Aug 15 Houston, TX @ Fitz Downstairs
Fri, Aug 17 Charlotte, NC @ Visulite
Sat, Aug 18 Atlanta, GA @ Eddie’s Attic
Sun, Aug 19 Atlanta, GA @ Eddie’s Attic
Mon, Aug 20 Birmingham, AL @ Workplay
Tues, Aug 21 Nashville, TN @ The End
Thur, Aug 23 Orlando, FL @ The Social
Sat, Aug 25 New York, NY @ Highline Ballroom

For biography, press photos and cover art, please click here: http://bit.ly/wSPzEe.

jaybrannan.com
www.facebook.com/JayBrannan
twitter.com/jaybrannan

###

Press Inquiries:
Danielle Romeo/Nettwerk Music Group
212-760-1540/romeo@nettwerk.com
 

Press contact: 

Danielle Romeo | romeo@nettwerk.com