Nettwerk Music Group Starts 2013 On A High Note

Check Out Nettwerk Records' Label Profile On HERE

Nettwerk Music Group has started off the New Year on a high note, coming off of an exciting 2012 across all facets of the company.

On the management side, the biggest story of the year was fun., who broke out with their smash single “We Are Young feat. Janelle Monae” from sophomore album Some Nights (Fueled by Ramen). The single has gone on to sell over 10.5 million digital copies worldwide and boasts more than 160 million YouTube views, while the album has sold over 1.5 million copies worldwide. The band ended the year with six Grammy® nominations including Album of the Year, Best New Artist and Song of the Year.

Internationally, Vancouver-based singer/songwriter Wanting (who is signed to Nettwerk's management, label and publishing rosters) saw her debut album, Everything In The World, explode in and around China, going Triple Platinum in China and Hong Kong and Platinum in Malaysia and Taiwan. Wanting is nominated for 10 Chinese Music Chart Awards (similar to the Grammy Awards), including Best New Artist, Album of the Year and Singer/Songwriter of the Year.

LA-based band Family of the Year, who sits on Nettwerk’s management and label rosters, saw a local buzz early last year grow into full-fledged national acclaim. Their track “Hero” debuted at #28 on the Triple A Chart (now Top 10), leading Billboard Magazine to highlight them in their “Bubbling Under” weekly feature. The band has seen huge licensing success, with tracks featured in the HBO series Girls, a national Advil television commercial, and a major placement in the anticipated film Thanks For Sharing, starring Gwyneth Paltrow and Mark Ruffalo. They ended 2012 with their debut national TV appearance on Last Call with Carson Daly, and a nod from the Huffington Post, which said, "Family of the Year should be going places besides their next tour stop. Loma Vista is pure pop deserves to appear on many year-end Top 10 lists."

Label artist Passenger started off 2013 with his latest album, All The Little Lights, achieving its highest chart ranking (#7) on the Billboard Heatseekers Chart, where it has appeared for 22 straight weeks and counting. The video for lead single “Let Her Go” exploded on YouTube, gaining 6 million views over two months and bringing the current total to 7 million. In the UK, iTunes named All The Little Lights the “Best Singer/Songwriter Album of 2012.” Passenger’s fan-base grew exponentially after extensive tour dates with Ed Sheeran in the U.S. and Europe, leading to his own sold-out debut headline tour in December. He is currently in the midst of a sold-out UK/European headline run.

Nettwerk Records ended the year with the exciting signing announcement of the much-buzzed about Swiss/German duo BOY, whose debut album Mutual Friends is already Gold-certified in Germany, with infections lead single “Little Numbers” garnering more than 7 million YouTube views. Mutual Friends is out February 26.

Nettwerk One Music celebrated the holidays with publishing client Aaron Espe’s track,“Through Frozen Forests,” soundtracking the major Sainsbury 2012 Christmas TV ad campaign, the popularity of which led to a digital EP release in the UK via Nettwerk Records. Fellow publishing client Perfume Genius licensed his song, “Dark Parts,” to Honda for a worldwide TV campaign as his latest album, Put Your Back N 2 It, received widespread critical acclaim and landed on Paste Magazine’s “Best of 2012” list.

Nettwerk Producer Management clients achieved some historic feats in 2012, including producer Ron Aniello, mixer Bob Clearmountain and mixer Chris Lord-Alge all contributing to Rolling Stone’s #1 Album of the Year, Bruce Springsteen’s Wrecking Ball. Chris Lord-Alge also mixed much of the album, The 2nd Law, from British band MUSE, including the official theme song of the 2012 London Olympics, “Survival.”

Lastly, Nettwerk just announced a new music venture called Nettrax, a full-service electronic music label that will directly solicit and launch standout tracks and albums from a diverse and growing talent pool of musicians and artists in the electronic music scene. Nettrax will see its launch on January 29th with the release of “We Are The Future” by Andy Caldwell. The track, a progressive house anthem in the making, features Angela McCluskey on vocals; who, among many other accomplishments, voiced the hit song, “In The Air” released by Nettwerk Records in 2011. “We Are The Future” will be available exclusively at Beatport until its worldwide release on February 26th.

Stay tuned for more exciting news from Nettwerk Music Group!

Press contact: 

Danielle Romeo |, Penny Palmer |