Guster To Release 'Evermotion,' First Album In Four Years (Out January 13); Listen To "Simple Machine"

 Listen To “Simple Machine” And B-Side “Long Night”:


Guster will release their first album in four years, Evermotion, fearlessly experimenting with new instruments and collaborations to create their most vibrant album yet. Produced by Shins keyboardist/Black Keys bassist Richard Swift, who has produced records for Damien Jurado, Foxygen and Stereolab, the new album bulldozes inhibitions, propelling the band to a harder-charging, more freewheeling sound. Evermotion is out January 13 as a joint release by Nettwerk Records and Guster’s own label Ocho Mule. Listen to the utterly infectious new single “Simple MachineTIME hails for its “frantic beats and crawling synthesizers”: The song is out today with B-side “Long Night,” also off the new album.

The quartet of Ryan Miller, Adam Gardner, Brian Rosenworcel and Luke Reynolds recorded at Swift’s Cottage Grove, OR studio in three whirlwind weeks – the fastest the band has ever finished an album. “We recorded with one drum microphone, used whole takes, didn’t obsess over vocals or really edit things at all,” said Rosenworcel. “It’s a raw version of our band.” Despite the stripped-down sessions, Guster’s songs are packed with tight hooks, muscular guitar riffs, clanging percussion and surprisingly dark lyrics. The new album features adventurous turns on slide guitars, brassy trumpets and a glockenspiel, with sax and trombone accompaniment by Jon Natchez, whose stints with the War on Drugs, Beirut, Passion Pit and others have led NPR to call him “indie rock’s most valuable sideman.”

Guster started with two acoustic guitars and a pair of bongos and have since evolved and expanded their instrumentation, gaining a massive fan base that follows them to sold-out shows at New York’s Radio City Music Hall and Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium. The band’s last release, 2010’s ‘Easy Wonderful,’ earned their highest chart debut on the Billboard Top 200 and opened at #2 on iTunes. The album was praised by the Wall Street Journal for its “jangly, ebullient rock” and by USA Today for the “impeccable, infectious” songs that are “impossible not to feel,” while Vanity Fair called it “feel-good” and Boston Globe hailed its “effervescent and thoughtful pop.”

Guster recently launched an album pre-order for Evermotion. Fans who pre-order will gain exclusive access to a series of early bonus content. Along with traditional signed CDs and LPs, fans can also purchase experiences like a trip to a local Tesla dealership where the band will buy a fan a Tesla. For additional details, please visit Guster’s album pre-order page HERE.

Track List:

1. Long Night
2. Endlessly
3. Doin’ It By Myself
4. Lazy Love
5. Simple Machine
6. Expectation
7. Gangway
8. Kid Dreams
9. Never Coming Down
10. It Is Just What It Is
11. Farewell

Press contact: 

Penny Palmer |