Indie Folk Duo The Weepies Return With 'Sirens' + U.S. Tour Dates

Beloved husband/wife indie folk duo The WeepiesDeb Talan and Steve Tannen – return with Sirens, their first full-length release in five years, on April 28, 2015. The pair will hit the road with a full band starting May 29 in Madison, WI for a 28-city U.S. tour. Yesterday, Billboard.com premiered the album’s title track (here: http://bit.ly/1zyLPVz).

Of Sirens, Steve tells Billboard, "This was a helluva a year for us Weepies. Frightening dire diagnoses, hospitals, and helping angels everywhere, but it seemed like maybe this was also the end of everything -- like the journey was over. Sirens were mermaids that led sailors to their doom with their sweet voices. It's also a reference to an ambulance siren, and together they summed up the feeling of the year: otherworldly, hopeful, terrible.”

At 16 songs and nearly an hour long, Sirens is an album that runs the emotional spectrum. Just before Christmas 2013, Deb was diagnosed with Stage 3 breast cancer. While she was in treatment, the band continued to write and record from their home studio in Iowa, where they now live with their three children. In the summer of 2014, Deb beat cancer. Coming back from the edge sharpened the duo’s skills and focus. SIRENS shows a band at the height of its powers.

With the couple unable to travel while Deb was in treatment, they invited guest musicians to record remotely wherever each musician happened to be, resulting in an unlikely superstar backing band. Players from across the spectrum jumped in, including: Pete Thomas and Steve Nieve (Elvis Costello), Gerry Leonard (David Bowie), Rami Jaffee (Foo Fighters), Tony Levin (Peter Gabriel), Oliver Kraus (Sia) and Matt Chamberlain (Pearl Jam), as well as veteran Weepies compatriots Frank Lenz, Eli Thomson, Jon Flaugher, Meg Toohey, and Whynot Jansveld, plus a horn section from New Orleans. The album contains 14 original tracks, plus covers of Tom Petty’s “Learning to Fly” and a version of Irish balladeer Mark Geary’s “Volunteer.”

Singer-songwriters Deb Talan and Steve Tannen began writing the night they met. On the strength of their simple yet insightful songwriting and distinctive harmonies, they quietly sold more than a million records, with over 17 million streams on Spotify, 20 million views on YouTube and over 100 TV/film syncs.

Sirens Track Listing:
1. River From The Sky
2. No Trouble
3. Sirens
4. Learning To Fly
5. Never Let You Down
6. Wild Boy
7. Ever Said Goodbye
8. Fancy Things
9. Early Morning Riser
10. Boys Who Want To Be Girls
11. Crooked Smiles
12. Brand New Pair Of Wings
13. Sunflower
14. Does Not Bear Repeating
15. My Little Love
16. Volunteer

The Weepies Tour Dates:
Fri, May 29 Madison, WI @ The Majestic Theatre
Sat, May 30 Chicago, IL @ Park West
Sun, May 31 Minneapolis, MN @ Fitzgerald Theatre
Tue, June 2 Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot
Wed, June 3 Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory Concert House
Thur, June 4 Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre
Fri, June 5 Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall
Sun, June 7 San Francisco, CA @ Fillmore
Tue, June 9 Los Angeles, CA @ Fonda Theatre
Wed, June 10 Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern
Thur, June 11 Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom
Fri, June 12 Albuquerque, NM @ BioPark Zoo (Zoo Music Concert Series)
Sat, June 13 Boulder, CO @ TBA
Mon, June 15 Dallas, TX @ Granada Theatre
Tue, June 16 Austin, TX @ Paramount Theatre
Thur, June 18 Nashville, TN @ City Winery
Fri, June 19 Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
Sat, June 20 Charlotte, NC @ Neighborhood Theatre
Sun, June 21 Falls Church, VA @ State Theatre
Mon, June 22 Annapolis, MD @ Rams Head On Stage
Tue, June 23 Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Thur, June 25 Norwalk, CT @ Norwalk Concert Hall
Fri, June 26 Boston, MA @ Wilbur Theatre
Sat, June 27 New York, NY @ Town Hall
Sun, June 28 Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom
Mon, June 29 Traverse City, MI @ City Opera House
Tue, June 30 Detroit, MI @ Magic Bag
Wed, July 1 Iowa City, IA @ Englert Theatre

Press contact: 

Danielle Romeo | romeo@nettwerk.com