The Paper Kites Join Passenger For 2017 North American Tour; "Bloom" Reaches 110 Million Streams

 

Australian outfit The Paper Kites wrap up their sold-out North American headline tour to critic praises across the country.  “Romantic and intoxicating” (Philadelphia Weekly), The Paper Kites will join Passenger (Mike Rosenberg) for a 2017 North American tour that begins March 7 in Philadelphia, PA (full dates below).

“We wound up on one of the great North American tours in the band’s history, and just when we thought things couldn’t get any better, the news drops that we are on our way back!  We cannot wait to share the stage with our man Passenger,” says band member Sam Rasmussen.

Having toured across 4 continents, 24 countries and played nearly 200 shows in just under 3 years, The Paper Kites have played to packed-house crowds around the world.  With over 200 million overall streams and nearly 2 million monthly listeners on Spotify, the band continues to amass new fans wherever they go.  Their debut single “Bloom” has now reached over 110 million combined streams worldwide.

Directed by frontman Sam Bentley and newcomer Dean Lusk, the band shares the official music video for latest single “Too Late” from their sophomore album twelvefour (out now via Nettwerk Records). Written entirely between midnight and 4AM, twelvefour explores the theory that an artist’s creative peak lays within these hours.  For two sleepless months, lead singer/guitarist Sam Bentley worked, reversing his sleep patterns and penning 30 songs in his home studio. The group then travelled to Seattle to record with Grammy-nominated producer, Phil Ek (Father John Misty, Manchester Orchestra, Fleet Foxes). Watch “Too Late” below.

The Paper Kites is Sam Bentley (lead vocals, guitar, harmonica), Christina Lacy (lead vocals, guitar, keys, mandolin), David Powys (vocals, guitar, banjo, lap steel), Josh Bentley (drums, percussion) and Sam Rasmussen (bass, synths).

Stay tuned in the coming weeks for additional information.

Tour Dates w/Passenger:

Tues., March 7                        Philadelphia, PA @ The Fillmore Club

Wed., March 8                        Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club

Fri., March 10                         Boston, MA @ House Of Blues

Sat., March 11                        New York, NY @ Beacon Theatre

Tues., March 14                     Montreal, QC @ Metropolis (SOLD OUT)

Wed., March 15                     Toronto, ON @ The Sound Academy

Fri., March 17                        Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre

Sat., March 18                       Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue

Tues., March 21                     Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre

Thurs., March 23                   Edmonton, AB @ Winspear (SOLD OUT)

Sat., March 25                       Vancouver, BC @ Orpheum Theatre

Sun., March 26                      Seattle, WA @ The Showbox SODO

Tues., March 28                     Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom

Thurs., March 30                   Oakland, CA @ Fox Theater

Sat., April 1                            Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern

Sun., April 2                           San Diego, CA @ House Of Blues

Wed., April 5                          Dallas, TX @ House Of Blues

Thurs., April 6                        Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Waller Creek Amphitheater

Sat., April 8                            Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium

Sun., April 9                           Atlanta, GA @ Bulkhead Theatre

 

 

Press contact: 
Penny Palmer | ppalmer@nettwerk.com