The Harmaleighs Share "Anthem For The Weak" Song + Video

“a warm and intimate tune with vocals that play as though [Haley] Grant is whispering lyrics into your ear.” – FLOOD

“spicy, sultry music therapy.” – AfterEllen.com

“With courage and honesty, The Harmaleighs take a brave step at exposing vulnerability through their songs...” – Nothing But Hope And Passion

“...this somber bedroom tune strikes a chord with emotionally intimate vocals and Americana instrumentals.” -- BuffaBlog

Nashville indie duo The Harmaleighs (Haley Grant and Kaylee Jasperson) give another taste off their upcoming full-length She Won’t Make Sense with album opener “Anthem For The Weak.”  The accompanying video, which premiere earlier today via FLOOD,  was shot in Mt. Pleasant, TN and follows the duo around the town on razor scooters, a hobby Haley took up during her darkest mental state at the advice of her therapist.  Out August 2nd, She Won’t Make Sense is a concept album about mental illness – specifically Haley’s deeply personal journey through anxiety, depression and mania.

Haley says of the track, “‘Anthem for the Weak’ is about listening heavily to the voice in your head. She talks so much and sometimes it’s like hearing your favorite song. She’s so easy to tune into even though she can be so toxic. This song sparked the idea of referring to my mental health as ‘Susan’ and putting a character to her." The character of “Susan” appears throughout the album.

Produced by Dan Molad (Lucius, JD McPherson, Tweedy), She Won’t Make Sense is a stark contrast from their previous releases, having evolved from their acoustic beginnings to a fuller sound involving synths, strings and drums. The album covers the full spectrum of sound, from heavier rock tunes to somber folk, to properly convey the emotional weight of the album’s subject matter.

The Harmaleighs On Tour:

Mon, July 15             Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop Bar (w/ And The Kids)

Thur, July 18             Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Park Brewing (w/ And The Kids)

Fri, July 19                Middletown, CT @ MAC 650 (w/ And The Kids)

Fri, Aug 2                   Birmingham, AL @ Secret Stages Music Festival

Sat, Aug 3                 Birmingham, AL @ Secret Stages Music Festival

Fri, Aug 23                Nashville, TN @ The Basement (Album Release Show)

Mon, Sept 9              Atlanta, GA @ Vinyl (w/ Dave Hause)

Thur, Sept 12            Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar (w/ Dave Hause)

Thur, Sept 19            Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern (w/ Chris Pureka)

Mon, Sept 21            Spring Lake, MI @ Seven Steps Up (w/ Chris Pureka)

Tue, Sept 22             Ann Arbor, MI @ The Ark (w/ Chris Pureka)

Wed, Sept 23            Madison, WI @ High Noon (w/ Chris Pureka)

Fri, Sept 25               Evanston, IL @ SPACE (w/ Chris Pureka)

Sat, Sept 26              Milwaukee, WI @ Anodyne Coffee (w/ Chris Pureka)

Sun, Sept 27             Minneapolis, MN @ The Warming House (w/ Chris Pureka)

Mon, Sept 28            Davenport, IA @ Raccoon Motel (w/ Chris Pureka)

 

Press contact: 
Danielle Romeo | romeo@nettwerk.com