New Signing: Brooklyn's Sammy Rae

"[Sammy Rae] leads the type of music revolution in which everyone is welcome and anyone can join.” – BK Reader

Sammy Rae’s sound is a mélange of her influences, rooted in classic rock, pop and soul, and sprinkled with hints of blues and jazz. She brings it all to life with “The Friends,” her touring bandmates born from a collection of talented musicians and friends. Complete with a rhythm section, horn section, keyboards, and two backup singers, Sammy Rae & The Friends have delivered their high-energy, spirited and unrestrained shows to sold-out audiences in the Northeast and beyond. The Brooklyn-based singer, songwriter, composer and band leader joins Nettwerk Music Group, and today shares a new video for her latest single, “Denim Jacket.”

Watch + Share “Denim Jacket” Here:

Of the song, Sammy Rae says, “‘Denim Jacket’ is a song about overcoming self-consciousness and social anxiety. Everyone has a social mechanism which allows them to most fully and bravely express themselves; for some it is the company and support of a friend, alcohol or drugs, or just a favorite outfit that always gets you feeling yourself: ‘I put the thing around my shoulders, suddenly it’s looking like I did not come to play. I already won the game.’”

Sammy Rae & The Friends have announced November tour dates, including a special hometown show at New York City’s Le Poisson Rouge on Friday, November 15th.  Dates will resume in February 2020, with more headline shows on the east coast, followed by a west coast run dates supporting Ripe (The Band). In the midst of all this, Sammy Rae will also be working on new music, due out next year (tba). 

Sammy Rae & The Friends On Tour:
Headline Dates
Thur, Nov 14             Woodstock, NY @ The Colony
Fri, Nov 15                New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge
Sat, Nov 16               Philadelphia, PA @ MilkBoy
Sun, Nov 17              Washington, DC @ Gypsy Sally’s
Wed, Feb 5               Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground
Fri, Feb 7                   Northampton, MA @ Iron Horse Music Hall
Sat, Feb 8                 Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Supporting Ripe (The Band)
Fri, Mar 27                 Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Sat, Mar 28               Seattle, WA @ The Showbox
Wed, Apr 1                Crystal Bay, NV @ Crystal Bay Club Casino
Thur, Apr 2                San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Fri, Apr 3                    Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey
Sat, Apr 4                  San Diego, CA @ House of Blues
Sun, Apr 5                 Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom

Stay tuned for more news and new music from Sammy Rae.

 

Press contact: 
Danielle Romeo | romeo@nettwerk.com