Family Of The Year To Release Studio Album On September 4; Listen To Lead Single "Make You Mine"

Family Of The Year

On September 4, Family Of The Year will release the highly anticipated self-titled studio album via Nettwerk Records.

Recorded in Berlin and back home in Los Angeles, the alt-rock foursome delivers an exciting musical progression with a more electric sound than previous releases. Taking on new subject matters, the band’s assorted instrumentation and lyrical arc are emblematic of the last three years on the road and finding success here and abroad.

Family Of The Year gained notoriety with “Hero” from 2012’s Loma Vista and its featured appearance in the Oscar-nominated, Golden Globe winning film Boyhood. With 90 million combined YouTube and Spotify streams, “Hero” also became a Top 10 hit in Austria, Belgium, Germany and Switzerland.

Listen To “Make You Mine” HERE:

With the success of “Hero,” we knew that more people were going to hear the new album. We were all about moving forward and making something new. We didn't try to make a reactionary record or try to recreate anything we'd done in the past, we just wrote the same way we always have. We went into the studio and recorded songs that were dear to us and pushed ourselves to make something that we love, “ says lead singer/guitarist Joe Keefe.

Partnering with Entertainment Weekly, the band shares the first official piece of new music from the album; lead single “Make You Mine.”

'Make You Mine' is about darkness and light…the winter and the summer. It was written during a blizzard while visiting my mom on Martha's Vineyard. As a teenager, I remember how much we looked forward to summer and how we were just trying to get through the cold winter months. Growing up on an island that was bleak and vacant most of the year and then beautiful and full of people for three months is really interesting. There’s a lot of dark/light weirdness on this record and I think this song embodies that. It’s by far the most upbeat, happy sounding song on the record but it came from a dark place. Literally, a dark snowy night in the woods searching for a feeling that seemed so far away,” Joe adds.

The band is currently on the road with AWOLNATION. Full dates below.

Tour Dates:
** w/AWOLNATION

Tues., June 9 Birmingham, AL @ Iron City **
Wed., June 10 New Orleans, LA @ House Of Blues **
Fri., June 12 North Myrtle Beach, SC @ House Of Blues **
Sat., June 13 Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle **
Tues., June 16 Richmond, VA @ The National **
Wed., June 17 Philadelphia, PA @ World Café Live
Thurs., June 18 Silver Spring, MD @ The Fillmore **
Mon., June 22 Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre **
Tues., June 23 Montreal, QC @ Metropolis **
Thurs., June 25 Boston, MA @ House Of Blues **
Fri., June 26 New York, NY @ Irving Plaza **
Sat., June 27 New York, NY @ Irving Plaza **
Sun., June 28 Buffalo, NY @ Town Ballroom **
Tues., June 30 Cleveland, OH @ House Of Blues **
Wed., July 1 Cincinnati, OH @ Bogart’s **
Tues., July 2 Detroit, MI @ The Fillmore **
Wed., July 3 Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall **
Thurs., July 9 Quebec, QC @ Quebec Festival
Sat., July 11 Ottawa, ON @ Ottawa Bluesfest
Sun., July 19 Indianapolis, IN @ Old National Centre Egyptian Room **
Tues., July 21 Minneapolis, MN @ Cabooze Outdoors **
Sun., July 26 Omaha, NE @ Sokol Auditorium **
Tues., July 28 Ft. Collins, CO @ Aggie Theater **
Thurs., July 30 Reno, NV @ Knitting Factory **
Sat., August 1 Los Angeles, CA @ Palladium **

Track List:

1. Make You Mine
2. Facepaint
3. Carry Me
4. We Need Love
5. May I Miss You
6. Give a Little
7. Blue Jean Girl
8. Dead Poets
9. The Dance
10. Hey Kid
 

Press contact: 

Penny Palmer | ppalmer@nettwerk.com