Madi Diaz Premieres New Song On MTV.com; Tour Dates Added With Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.

“[Madi] is shooting for pop stardom.” – KCRW “Songs You Should Hear Right Now”

’Stay Together’ does not disappoint, offering crisp melodies, gossamer synths and an explosively hooky chorus.” — CMJ

“Madi Diaz Writes The Most Danceable Break Up Record Ever” — LA Weekly

“Madi Diaz Shows Us How To Get Through A Shitty Break Up” – VICE’s Noisey

“‘Phantom' is one of the dance-while-you’re-mad, dance-while-you’re sad collections that sees the Berklee-educated, formerly Nashville-based singer-songwriter fully transitioning from folk to electro-pop. As evidenced by the irresistible single 'Stay Together,' it works.” —
Buzzbands.la

In anticipation of her forthcoming full-length Phantom, Madi Diaz has revealed a third album track, “Tomorrow,” which premiered on MTV.com yesterday in conjunction with the song’s sync in last night’s episode of the MTV series Finding Carter. “Tomorrow” serves as the album opener, setting the pace with pulsing beats, meandering melodies and subtle synths, while Diaz’s voice weaves between the danceable rhythms.

Madi will celebrate the Setpember 30 release of Phantom by launching her expanding fall tour at Brooklyn’s Rough Trade with X Ambassadors and Jamie N Commons. After an eight city east coast run, she’ll head back west for her newly announced dates with Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. starting October 17, and then will meet up with Echosmith back east in November. All dates are listed below.

Listen To “Tomorrow”:


Watch The Music Video For Lead Single “Stay Together” Here:

Phantom was recorded in Madi’s newly adopted home of Los Angeles, produced by Nick Ruth (Mikky Ekko, Active Child) and mixed by John O’Mahony (Coldplay, Metric, Oh Land) at NYC’s famed Electric Lady Studios. The album’s 11 tracks expand upon Madi’s brand of sophisticated indie pop songs, providing a soundtrack for adventurous escapades on sweaty dance floors with old friends or late night introspective drives under a canopy of stars. Underneath the effervescent pop, her lyrics reveal an emotional through line.

"The record tells an arcing story that begins with a sweet naive love, then things get hard, and then comes a big slap in the face,” Madi laughs. “It starts nostalgic and resolves itself in this understanding of wider truth...this exhausted, relaxed goodness and reflection.”

Madi Diaz On Tour:
Supporting X Ambassadors and Jamie N Commons:
Tue, Sept 30 Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Thur, Oct 2 Asbury Park, NJ @ Wonder Bar
Fri, Oct 3 Norfolk, VA @ The Norva
Sat, Oct 4 Washington, DC @ DC9
Sun, Oct 5 Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
Tue, Oct 7 Pawtucket, RI @ The Met
Wed, Oct 8 Northampton, MA @ Pearl Street Clubroom
Fri, Oct 10 Buffalo, NY @ Waiting Room Upstairs
Supporting Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.
Fri, Oct 17 Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern

Sat, Oct 18 Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret

Sun, Oct 19 Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge 

Thur, Oct 23 Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up

Fri, Oct 24 Los Angeles, CA @ The Regent Theatre

Sat, Oct 25 Flagstaff, AZ @ Orpheum Theater

Mon, Oct 27 Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge

Tue, Oct 28 Boulder, CO @ Urban Lounge
Supporting Echosmith
Wed, Nov 12 Vienna, VA @ Jammin’ Java
Thur, Nov 13 Philadelphia, PA @ The Barbary
Fri, Nov 14 New York, NY @ The Studio at Webster Hall
Sat, Nov 15 South Burlington, VT @ Showcase Lounge
Sun, Nov 16 Cambridge, MA @ Middle East (Downstairs)*
Wed, Nov 19 Chicago, IL @ Schubas
*Upgraded venue

Press contact: 

Danielle Romeo | romeo@nettwerk.com