Current Swell Signs To Nettwerk To Release 'Long Time Ago' October 16 (Free MP3!)

Victoria, B.C.-based roots rock outfit Current Swell have joined Nettwerk’s label roster to release their new album, Long Time Ago, on October 16, 2012. To celebrate, the band is currently offering the album bonus track, “Young and Able,” as a free download. 

Download Album Bonus Track "Young and Able" Here: 

Keep reading for more information...

Since forming in 2005, Current Swell’s west coast influenced sound—an infectious combination of blues, roots, pop and rock—have earned the quartet scores of devoted fans from Canada to Brazil, where they recently returned from headlining two major festivals in Rio de Janeiro and Sao Paulo. The independent band started with modest expectations, playing shows in settings that ranged from backyards to beaches and using social media to grow their audience. Since then, they have supported artists like Xavier Rudd, K’Naan, K-OS, The Beach Boys, The Tragically Hip and more. Last summer, Current Swell not only headlined a Canada Day concert in front of a crowd of 45,000, but they also earned first place at Vancouver’s Peak Performance Project, a professional development program designed to help emerging artists.

Through the years of constant touring and slow but steady build of momentum, Current Swell—Scott Stanton (vocals/guitar), David Lang (vocals/guitar), Ghosty Boy (bass) and Chris Petersen (drums)—have continuously grown as songwriters and live performers, while keeping their sound authentic to who they are as individuals and as a unit.

“We believe in what a band stands for…the instruments we hold, our voices, a real song and a good time,” says Stanton. “Solid song writing and musicianship are always backed by a solid groove, and that is Current Swell.”

Stay tuned for more news from Current Swell, including U.S. tour dates this fall.

Long Time Ago track listing:
1. Long Time Ago
2. Too Cold
3. For The Land
4. I Want A Bird
5. Brad’s Song
6. Honest Man
7. Stumble
8. Get What’s Mine
9. Up The Hills
10. Shelter
11. Young and Able (bonus track)

Press contact: 

Danielle Romeo |