Yukon Blonde

Yukon Blonde has earned no shortage of acclaim for its hook-heavy brand of pop rock. But despite their love of vintage rock 'n' roll, the members aren't the kind of guys who cling to the past.

The Kelowna, Canada, band formerly known as Alphababy, had served as both the opening act and backup band for Jon-Rae Fletcher and toured extensively in its native country. Group members are Jeff Innes (guitar, vocals), Brandon Scott (guitar, vocals), Graham Jones (drums, vocals), and Adam Newton (bass).

Starting from scratch with a new name, they ditched their moody style in favour of a more raw, guitar-driven sound. Catchier and infinitely more fun to play live, Yukon Blonde's new songs quickly earned the band a devoted following when it relocated to Vancouver, BC. It was in this city that Yukon Blonde cut its debut EP, Everything in Everyway, in 2009. Recorded live-to-tape with producer Shawn Cole (You Say Party! We Say Die!, Hannah Georgas), these sessions also spawned the band's 2010 self-titled full-length.

Now, Yukon Blonde is poised to reinvent itself once again. Despite the success of the group's previous material, the musicians were initially uninspired when they set about writing like-minded new songs. Instead, the members were drawn to the fast, punk-tinged tracks that Innes has been penning in his spare time. Danceable and unrepentantly poppy, these new tracks evoked late-'70s/early-'80s post-punk and drew inspiration from artists like the Buzzcocks, Ramones and Talking Heads. Artistically uncompromising as ever, Yukon Blonde have already proved that they are willing to go wherever their restless artistic muse takes them.